top of page



Sri Guru Singh Sabha Gurdwara Reading, UK

The first recorded Sikh Sangat Diwan (congregation) was held in Denmark Street, Reading, in 1967, where Church hall was hired for 75 pence (old money) per day.

There where about 150 Sikh families at the time in Reading and a weekly Kirtan diwan’s where held. All the families participated in organising and cooking Langar (community kitchen) “Sewa”.

The Guru Granth Sahib was brought from few of the familie’s home for the “Diwan” on Sunday and then taken back after the service. Kirtan and Guru Granth Sahib Ji’s “Sewa” was performed by the congregation as there where no full time “Granthis”. The first president of the Gurdwara was Bhai Sahib Gurnam Singh.

Gurdwara Logo_edited.png

In 1974 the Methodist church in Cumberland Road, Newtown, Reading became available and the Sikh community decided that it need a more permanent place of worship where Guru Granth Sahib Ji could be installed on permanent basis, Akhand Paht (continues reading of Guru Granth Sahib Ji over 48 hours) could be performed and cooking of Langar could be done on site rather that at individual families homes and then transporting it to the hall every Sunday. The Cumberland Road site was purchased for a sum of £26,000 and with the grace of Guru and a lot of hard work put into weekly dash around the country to appeal for donations from other established Sikh Gurdwaras around the UK, the final payment on the loan was paid two years later.

The Gurdwara was extended in 1998 when the “Diwan” (main prayer hall) was moved from the ground floor to a newly constructed first floor. The kitchen and Langar hall facility was extended and new toilets and management offices where also added.


Board of Trustees 

The current members are:


  1. Ranveer Singh Sahota

  2. Surinder Singh Gill

  3. Mangal Singh Bhullar

  4. Surjit Singh Sidhu

  5. Haran Raj Singh Gill

  6. Harijeet Singh

  7. Kamalprit Singh Dhaliwal


Management Committee

The current members are:

Gurcharan Singh: Mukh Sevadaar

Gurmail Singh Garcha: Saihek Mukh Sevadaar

Navjit Kaur Gill:  Joint General Secretary

Kuljit Kaur:  Joint General Secretary

Ramandeep Kaur:  Stage Secretary

Vininder Singh Bajwa:  Treasurer

Manjit Kaur Sahota:  Health and Safety

Ajit Singh Khalon, Balbir Kaur Lalli,Satinder Singh Bassi, Ajaib Singh:  Langar Secretaries

Parvitar Singh Kularia & Amardeep Singh:  Building Maintenance

Jaspal Singh Sadhu:  Joint Treasurer

Parvitar Singh Kularia, Amardeep Singh:  Assistant Stage Secretary

Jaiwant Kaur Ahluwalia:  Admin

Ajmer Singh:  Non Exec Member

Image by Gursimrat Ganda
Managemet Committee
bottom of page